Justia U.S. 8th Circuit Court of Appeals Opinion Summaries

Articles Posted in Insurance Law
by
A hailstorm caused damage to the roofs of nine condominium units owned by a homeowners’ association in Minnesota. The damage was mainly to roof-valley metals, which required the replacement of surrounding shingles. The association and its insurer, State Farm, agreed that repairs were necessary, but disagreed on whether available replacement shingles met the policy requirement of being of “like kind and quality.” This determination would affect whether State Farm needed to pay for full roof replacement or just repairs to the damaged sections.To resolve the dispute, the association invoked the insurance policy’s appraisal provision. A three-member panel was formed, consisting of appraisers selected by each party and an umpire. The panel inspected the site and evaluated the replacement shingles. By a two-to-one vote, it awarded $52,482.81 as the total replacement cost, rejecting a more expensive full reroofing. The panel’s answers to clarification questions about the appearance of the shingles caused confusion, but further clarification revealed that all the replacement shingles were the same, with differences in appearance attributed to factors like shading or fading.The United States District Court for the District of Minnesota reviewed the appraisal award, sought clarification from the panel, and ultimately granted summary judgment in favor of State Farm, confirming the award. On appeal, the United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit reviewed the grant of summary judgment de novo. The court held that, under Minnesota law, appraisal awards are given every presumption of validity and are binding unless ambiguous. The panel’s award was clear and not ambiguous, and the panel had settled the dispute over whether the replacement shingles were of “like kind and quality.” The Eighth Circuit affirmed the district court’s judgment, confirming the appraisal award and rejecting further review of the adequacy of the amount. View "Jamestown Villas v. State Farm" on Justia Law

Posted in: Insurance Law
by
Sonia Breslow purchased a $250,000 watch from Jacob & Company, which was shipped from New York to the Iron Horse Golf Club in Montana. The Club repackaged the shipment and sent it via Federal Express (FedEx) “priority overnight” to a UPS store in Arizona. The shipping label did not declare a value for the package. Video evidence showed that after FedEx took possession, the yellow bag containing two boxes was no longer secured by a zip tie, and at the Scottsdale facility, an employee removed one box from the bag. Ultimately, FedEx delivered the bag to the UPS store, but the watch was missing. Sonia filed an insurance claim, and Pennsylvania Insurance paid the Breslows the purchase price, then sued FedEx as their subrogee.Pennsylvania Insurance initially brought claims for negligence, conversion, unjust enrichment, breach of contract, and civil theft in Nebraska state court. FedEx removed the case to the United States District Court for the District of Nebraska. The district court ruled that the Airline Deregulation Act preempted the claims for negligence, unjust enrichment, and civil theft, dismissed the conversion claim for lack of evidence, and found breach of contract but limited FedEx’s liability under the shipping contract to $100. The case proceeded to a bench trial, where the court found the breach and upheld the liability limit, entering judgment for Pennsylvania Insurance in the amount of $100.The United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit reviewed the case and affirmed the district court’s rulings. The court held that the Airline Deregulation Act preempts state-law claims relating to FedEx’s package handling and transportation services. It found no error in the district court’s dismissal of the conversion claim and upheld the liability limit of $100, concluding that the Club had adequate notice and opportunity to purchase greater coverage. The court also affirmed that Pennsylvania Insurance had standing as subrogee and that FedEx breached the contract. View "Pennsylvania Insurance Co. v. Federal Express Corp." on Justia Law

by
After an explosion and fire at an oil and gas well in North Dakota, XTO Energy, Inc., the well’s owner and operator, sought insurance coverage for compensation paid to injured workers. XTO had retained Missouri Basin as a contractor, and their agreement required Missouri Basin to maintain insurance supporting indemnity obligations. Missouri Basin obtained a second-layer umbrella policy from Commerce and Industry Insurance Company. This policy contained a pollution exclusion, which could be avoided if five specific conditions in a “time element exception” were met, including a requirement that any pollution incident be reported to Commerce within twenty-one days of being known to the insured. XTO failed to provide this notice within the required timeframe.Berkley National Insurance Company, another insurer, initially sought a declaration in the United States District Court for the District of North Dakota that it owed no indemnity obligation due to a pollution exclusion in its policy. XTO counterclaimed against Berkley and brought a third-party complaint against Commerce, seeking coverage. The district court granted summary judgment to XTO, finding that although XTO had not met the notice requirement, Commerce had waived this defense by not objecting promptly, and that Commerce failed to demonstrate prejudice from the late notice. The court ultimately ordered Commerce to pay damages to XTO.On appeal, the United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit found that the pollution exclusion in Commerce’s policy unambiguously barred coverage for XTO’s claim. The court held that XTO failed to satisfy the conditions of the time element exception, and Commerce did not waive its right to deny coverage by relying on the exclusion rather than on late notice. The court also held that North Dakota law did not require Commerce to show prejudice in these circumstances. Additionally, the court concluded that exceptions in Berkley’s policy were not incorporated into Commerce’s policy. The Eighth Circuit reversed the district court’s judgment and vacated the award. View "XTO Energy, Inc. v. Commerce and Industry Ins. Co." on Justia Law

Posted in: Insurance Law
by
The dispute arose after an insured, Joseph Russell Falasco, filed a claim with his insurer, USAA Casualty Insurance Company, following a fire that destroyed his partially restored 1974 Porsche 911S. After the incident, USAA began an investigation, sent a reservation of rights letter, and ultimately relied on an appraisal by a third party, CCC Intelligent Solutions, to value the vehicle. USAA’s valuation was based on comparable vehicles that Falasco disputed as inappropriate, and the company initially withheld settlement pending the outcome of a special investigations unit review, which ultimately found no intentional wrongdoing. After further dispute over the valuation, USAA eventually paid Falasco based on a higher appraisal obtained during litigation.The United States District Court for the Eastern District of Arkansas granted partial summary judgment to USAA on Falasco’s claims of bad faith and unfair claims settlement practices, concluding that the undisputed facts showed USAA had reasonably attempted to discharge its contractual obligations in good faith. The breach of contract claim proceeded to a jury trial, where Falasco prevailed and was awarded damages for the value of the car.On appeal, the United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit reviewed the partial summary judgment de novo. The court held that under Arkansas law, bad faith requires affirmative misconduct by the insurer that is dishonest, malicious, or oppressive, and that mere negligence, mistakes, or honest errors in judgment do not meet this standard. The appellate court found no evidence that USAA’s conduct—including its valuation methods, investigation for potential fraud or arson, alleged misrepresentations, and attempts to obtain the vehicle’s title—rose to the level of bad faith. The court affirmed the district court’s grant of summary judgment in favor of USAA on the bad faith claim. View "Falasco v. USAA Casualty Insurance Company" on Justia Law

Posted in: Insurance Law
by
A residential contractor in Iowa received warning notices from the Iowa Insurance Division, alleging that its business activities and advertising involved unlicensed public adjusting, which is regulated by two Iowa statutes. These statutes require public adjusters to be licensed and prohibit residential contractors from representing or negotiating insurance claims on behalf of property owners for the same project on which they perform work. Violations can lead to significant penalties. After the contractor was notified of alleged violations related to its advertising and communications with consumers, it challenged the constitutionality of the statutes, claiming they are void for vagueness and infringe upon First Amendment rights, both facially and as applied.The United States District Court for the Southern District of Iowa dismissed the contractor’s suit. The court found that the State of Iowa and its Insurance Division were immune under the Eleventh Amendment. It further held that the contractor failed to state a cognizable claim under the First or Fourteenth Amendments, concluding the statutes regulated conduct, not speech, and were not unconstitutionally vague.On appeal, the United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit affirmed in part, reversed in part, and remanded. The appellate court held that the statutes are not facially unconstitutional and are not void for vagueness. However, the court found that the district court erred by not adequately analyzing the contractor’s as-applied First Amendment challenge. Specifically, when the statutes were applied to restrict the contractor from telling insureds that it would assist or advise them in navigating the insurance claims process, the law regulated speech. The court reversed the dismissal of the as-applied First Amendment claim and remanded for further proceedings, while affirming the rejection of the facial and vagueness challenges. View "Shamrock Hills, LLC v. State of Iowa" on Justia Law

by
Empirical Prime, LLC defaulted on a loan issued by Enterprise Bank, violating the loan agreement by obtaining additional loans from other banks. Officers of Empirical allegedly submitted inaccurate financial statements and manipulated documents to secure these loans, as well as commingled and misappropriated funds. After the default, Enterprise Bank sought the appointment of a receiver, resulting in Brent King being appointed as receiver for Empirical. King, acting as receiver, sent letters to Texas Insurance Company (TIC) asserting that Empirical was owed coverage under a Directors and Officers Liability Policy, citing losses from the officers’ alleged misconduct.The case was initiated in Missouri state court by King, alleging breach of contract and vexatious refusal to pay under Missouri law. TIC removed the action to the United States District Court for the Western District of Missouri and moved to dismiss, arguing King lacked standing and that his claims failed to meet the policy’s requirements for coverage. The district court found that King had standing but concluded he failed to sufficiently allege either a “Claim” or a “Loss” as defined by the policy, because his letters to TIC were not demands against Empirical and there was no allegation of a legal obligation to pay resulting from a claim. The court granted TIC’s motion to dismiss and denied King’s motions to alter the judgment and to file an amended complaint, finding amendment would be futile.On appeal, the United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit affirmed the district court’s judgment. The court held that King’s complaint did not plausibly allege a “Claim” or “Loss” triggering coverage under the policy, and that the district court did not err in denying leave to amend because the proposed amendments would not cure these deficiencies. Thus, the dismissal and denial of leave to amend were upheld. View "King v. Texas Insurance Company" on Justia Law

Posted in: Insurance Law
by
A senior citizen, Jerry Freid, became the insured under a $4 million life insurance policy in 2008, with the policy owned by a trust naming his daughter as beneficiary. The transaction was orchestrated by Michael Binday, whose business solicited seniors to take out life insurance policies for third-party investors through premium financing schemes. These arrangements typically ensured that neither the insured nor their estate bore financial risk, and the policies were ultimately acquired by investors after a contestability period. In Freid’s case, all premiums were financed and the trust sold the policy to an investor after two years. Evidence established that Freid lacked both the means and legitimate reason to seek such a large policy, and that the representations made in the policy application regarding his finances and intent were false.After Freid’s death in 2020, Ameritas Life Insurance Corp., successor to the original issuer, refused to pay policy benefits to Vida Longevity Fund, which had purchased the policy and was represented by Wells Fargo as securities intermediary. Wells Fargo sued in the United States District Court for the District of Nebraska, alleging breach of contract and bad faith. The district court granted summary judgment for Ameritas, finding New Jersey law applied and that the policy was void as a stranger-originated life insurance (STOLI) policy, contrary to state law. The court concluded that because the policy was void ab initio, Ameritas owed no benefits.The United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit reviewed the case de novo. It affirmed the district court’s decision, holding that New Jersey law governed the policy under Nebraska’s choice of law rules, and that the policy was void under New Jersey law as a STOLI transaction. The court determined that no genuine dispute of material fact existed and that summary judgment for Ameritas was proper. View "Wells Fargo Bank N.A. v. Ameritas Life Insurance Corp." on Justia Law

Posted in: Insurance Law
by
After enduring physical and sexual abuse while in the care of James and Susan McLaurie as a young child, the plaintiff obtained a $150 million judgment against both individuals in Missouri state court. Seeking to collect on this judgment, the plaintiff subsequently filed a new action in state court against the McLauries and their homeowner’s insurer, Liberty Mutual, asserting equitable garnishment claims against all three and additional claims, including bad faith and breach of contract, against Liberty Mutual.Liberty Mutual removed the action to the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Missouri, invoking diversity jurisdiction. At the time of removal, James McLaurie had not yet been served but later entered an appearance. The plaintiff moved to remand, arguing a lack of complete diversity, and James McLaurie joined this motion, expressly refusing to consent to removal. The district court disagreed that diversity was lacking but found that the absence of consent from all defendants rendered removal procedurally defective under the requirement of unanimity in 28 U.S.C. § 1446(b)(2)(A). The court granted remand on this procedural ground.On appeal, the United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit examined whether it had jurisdiction to review the district court’s remand order. The appellate court held that, under 28 U.S.C. § 1447(d), remand orders based on procedural defects—such as a lack of unanimity among defendants—are not reviewable, so long as the district court’s basis was at least “colorably” procedural. The court determined that the district court’s characterization of its order as resting on a procedural defect was colorable. Accordingly, the Eighth Circuit dismissed the appeal for lack of jurisdiction. View "G.T. v. Liberty Mutual Fire Insurance Company" on Justia Law

by
After the death of Dana Kleinsteuber, her husband, Charles Kleinsteuber, sought accidental death and dismemberment (AD&D) benefits under an ERISA-governed insurance plan administered and insured by Metropolitan Life Insurance Company (MetLife). Dana Kleinsteuber, who suffered from end-stage renal disease (ESRD) due to a long history of an eating disorder, was using home dialysis as treatment. On the day of her death, she apparently failed to properly close her chest port after a dialysis session, resulting in severe blood loss and subsequent cardiac arrest. Emergency responders stopped the bleeding, but she died shortly after.MetLife initially denied the claim on the basis that Dana’s death resulted from natural causes related to her ESRD, and that an exclusion in the plan applied for losses caused or contributed to by illness or its treatment. Following an extensive administrative appeal submitted by Mr. Kleinsteuber, which included evidence from Dana’s doctor and other records, MetLife reconsidered and acknowledged the death was accidental. However, it maintained the exclusion applied because the death was caused or contributed to by the treatment for her ESRD. After Mr. Kleinsteuber exhausted his administrative remedies, he filed suit in the United States District Court for the District of Minnesota. The district court granted summary judgment for MetLife, finding the exclusion applicable.The United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit reviewed the case. The court held that MetLife provided a full and fair review and that its conflict of interest deserved little weight. The court interpreted the plan exclusion de novo, finding that the ordinary meaning of “caused or contributed to” included Dana’s death under these circumstances. Applying an abuse-of-discretion standard to MetLife’s ultimate decision, the court found substantial evidence supported the denial. As a result, the Eighth Circuit affirmed the district court’s judgment, upholding MetLife’s denial of benefits. View "Kleinsteuber v. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co." on Justia Law

by
After suffering a car accident more than 40 years ago, the plaintiff lost the use of her arms and legs and required substantial assistance with daily activities. She worked for a regional education agency for over three decades, during which her employer began offering group long-term care insurance through the defendant insurer. The policy was “guaranteed issue,” so preexisting conditions were not a barrier to enrollment, but it contained an “existing-loss provision” excluding coverage for losses of daily living activities that already existed on the policy’s effective date. The plaintiff, after consulting with both agency specialists and the insurer—without fully disclosing her limitations—enrolled in the policy and paid premiums for nearly 20 years. Upon retiring, she filed a claim for benefits based on her longstanding impairments. Her claim was denied, as her limitations predated the policy’s effective date.The plaintiff sued in state court, alleging breach of contract, fraudulent misrepresentation, and bad faith. After the case was removed to the United States District Court for the Northern District of Iowa, the defendant moved for summary judgment. The district court granted summary judgment to the insurer and dismissed the case, finding that the policy’s plain language did not cover losses existing before coverage began and that the plaintiff could not rely on the reasonable-expectations doctrine or statutory protections for preexisting conditions to obtain coverage.On appeal, the United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit affirmed the district court’s judgment. The Eighth Circuit held that under the unambiguous terms of the policy and applicable Iowa law, the insurer was not required to cover losses that predated the effective date of coverage. The court also rejected the plaintiff’s arguments based on Iowa statutes, administrative rules, and the reasonable-expectations doctrine, as well as her claims for bad faith and fraudulent misrepresentation, concluding that the insurer had a reasonable basis for denial. View "Child v. Unum Life Insurance Co. of America" on Justia Law